Tennessee drivers are required by law to carry auto insurance in case they’re involved in accidents. The state has a minimum requirement for coverage that all drivers must meet. These requirements are:
- $25,000 for each injury or death per accident
- $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
However, a large number of drivers in Tennessee are uninsured. In fact, a recent study found that Tennessee ranks 5th for most uninsured drivers in the nation. When those drivers cause accidents, their victims may find it difficult to pay for their medical bills and lost wages, as they may have to pay most of them out of pocket.
At Ponce Law, our Nashville auto accident lawyers want to help innocent victims get compensation after crashes. Whether they were injured in hit-and-run accidents or accidents caused by uninsured drivers, some victims may still be eligible to get money for their accident-related expenses through their own insurance plans.
If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection, you can file a claim against your own insurance policy to get compensation. You may have other methods of obtaining compensation, including filing claims against other parties if their negligence contributed to the accident. Find out your options today by contacting Ponce Law for a free consultation.