In Tennessee, you’re legally required to have valid auto insurance to drive on public roads. The requirements for auto insurance are:
- $25,000 for each injury or death per accident
- $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
If you don’t meet the minimum insurance requirements, you can be fined and even lose your vehicle registration. However, meeting the minimum requirements only protects you if you cause a crash that results in property damage, injuries, or death to someone else. It doesn’t do anything to help you if you’re involved in a crash that wasn’t your fault, and injures you.
While it’s true that Tennessee requires auto insurance, you shouldn’t count on the other driver in a crash that injures you to actually have auto insurance. Nearly one-in-four Tennessee drivers is uninsured, and many of those drivers don’t have the money to pay for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages out of pocket.
To protect yourself and your loved ones, it’s essential to have uninsured/underinsured driver coverage. This coverage can provide you with compensation if the other driver either has no auto insurance or they only have minimum coverage and it isn’t enough to pay for all of your accident-related expenses.
However, simply having the right coverage doesn’t always mean you’re going to get the money you’re owed. At Ponce Law, we work hard to help injured victims get the compensation they deserve. Contact our Nashville car accident lawyers after a crash that wasn’t your fault.