Tennessee drunk driving laws

New Laws Aim to Reduce Fatal Tennessee Car Accident Numbers

by Staff Blogger | August 3rd, 2015

The Dangers of Drunk Driving and Not Buckling Up

Two of the leading causes of Tennessee car accidents are drunk driving and a lack of seatbelt use. Data from the Insurance Institute of Highway safety shows drunk driving accidents account for roughly one-third of all fatal collisions in our state, while almost half of those who die on Tennessee highways are not wearing their seatbelts.

State legislators are hoping to address these issues with several new laws.

DUI Monitoring

This recently passed bill will require anyone charged with vehicular homicide or vehicular assault resulting from driving while intoxicated to wear a transdermal alcohol-monitoring bracelet as a condition of his or her release from custody. The unit is capable of detecting alcohol in a person’s system by monitoring moisture released through the skin. Officials say the law aims to keep repeat driving under the influence offenders off the road.

Seat Belt Laws

New regulations have also increased the penalties for not wearing a seatbelt in Tennessee. An article from The Daily Herald says fines for failing to buckle up have increased from $10 to $25 for a first offense and from $20 to $50 for secondary and subsequent infractions. The fine for any driver between ages 16-17 who is not properly restrained was also increased from $20 to $25.

Protect Yourself

The legal staff at Ponce Law believes in the importance of highway safety and is encouraged by recent legislation, but we know the key to preventing accidents starts with drivers. Our Nashville car accident lawyers ask you to always buckle up and to avoid driving after drinking alcohol.

Judges Call for Stricter Drunk Driving Regulations in Sullivan County

by Staff Blogger | June 22nd, 2015

Tennessee is known for having some of the most stringent drunk driving laws in the United States today. Legislators passed a law in 2013 that requires all DUI offenders to have ignition interlock systems installed on their vehicles. Furthermore, the Tennessee Highway Patrol and local law enforcement agencies routinely conduct no refusal campaigns. This is when a judge or magistrate is on hand 24 hours a day to sign warrants for blood and breath samples from suspected DUI offenders.

Despite these laws, Tennessee drunk driving accidents continue to happen. Last year alone, drunk driving fatalities accounted for almost 30 percent of all traffic-related deaths. This is why some state lawmakers are looking to make drunk driving regulations even tougher.

For the last 20 years, officers, troopers, and deputies have signed a sworn affidavit stating the reason for any arrest. Now though, judges say this process doesn’t adhere to the law and could result in a failed conviction of a DUI offender. According to an article from the Insurance Journal, judges in Sullivan County are calling for magistrates to be on call at all hours of the day or night to give approval for late-night DUI arrests.

Our Nashville car accident lawyers at Ponce Law recognize the importance of holding drunk drivers accountable for their actions. That’s why we are hopeful the changes that have been requested by the judges are adopted sooner, rather than later.