Common Wage Disputes
Employees who are dealing with wage disputes may be eligible to receive compensation for:
- Unpaid Wages
If you weren’t paid the hourly or salary rate your employer agreed to pay you, you may be eligible to file a legal claim for the money you’re owed.
- Illegal Deductions
If your employer made automatic deductions from your paycheck, such as for a meal break you did not take, our law firm can fight to get you the money you are rightfully owed.
- Off-the-Clock Labor
If you were forced to continue working after you clocked out or during a designated meal period, we can help you get compensation for your unpaid work.
- Misclassification of Salary Status
Employers may classify workers as salaried or exempt to avoid paying overtime. However, many employees are misclassified. If you’re classified as salaried but think you should be hourly, our wage dispute lawyers can investigate to make sure you’re paid fairly.
- Misclassification of Bonuses and Commissions
Bonuses and commissions are generally considered part of your wage, and when they make up a significant portion of your paycheck, you deserve to receive the full amount you are entitled to.
- Hourly Wage Less than Minimum Wage
Tennessee has no state-defined minimum wage, but this means Tennessee employers must adhere to the federal minimum wage.
- Donning and Doffing
If your job requires you to wear specialized clothing or protective gear, you may be eligible for compensation for the time spent changing into or out of your work clothing. Even if it takes just 15 minutes at a time, that adds up to 2.5 hours in a typical 40-hour workweek for which you deserve payment.
Don’t let your employer deny your rights—get Ponce Law and let us be your legal advocate.
Wage Dispute FAQs
What’s minimum wage in Tennessee?
Tennessee uses the federal minimum wage, which is $7.25 per hour, or $2.13 per hour for tipped workers provided the hourly wage plus tips is at least $7.25 per hour.
I worked overtime but haven’t been paid for it. What can I do?
Federal law requires employees to receive pay of time and one-half their regular rates of pay for overtime work. Employees who haven’t been paid for overtime have two years in which to file a claim against their employer.
Can my employer withhold the cost of my uniform, equipment, company shortages, etc. from my paycheck?
Tennessee employers can’t make deductions from your paycheck without your consent unless you have signed a written agreement allowing them to do so.
Can my employer reduce my pay without telling me ahead of time?
Tennessee employers can reduce your pay only if they tell you before you perform any work at the new rate.
My paycheck is late. Is this allowed?
Tennessee employers are required to maintain regular paydays, inform employees of these dates, and post them in at least two places where employees can easily find them.
All wages or compensation earned and unpaid prior to the first day of any month must be paid no later than the twentieth day of the month following the one in which the wages were earned. All wages or compensation earned and unpaid prior to the sixteenth day of any month must be paid no later than the fifth day of the following month.
If I am let go, or quit my job, how long does my ex-employer have to send my final paycheck?
Tennessee employers are required to issue final paychecks by the next regularly scheduled payday, or within 21 days, whichever is later.
If you have a question that wasn’t answered here, contact the team at Ponce Law today for a free consultation.
The Ponce Law No Fee Guarantee®
Hiring a lawyer may seem impossible when you are already dealing with lost wages. But if you’ve been holding back from filing a lawsuit against your employer because you don’t think you can afford one, then you need to speak with the team at Ponce Law. Our Tennessee wage theft lawyers offer the No Fee Guarantee®. This means you don’t pay anything to talk with our team about your case, and if you decide to hire us, you don’t owe us anything unless we get money for you.
Your Tennessee Employment Lawyer
When you have a problem with your paycheck, call the wage dispute attorneys at Ponce Law. We’re committed to helping you file a claim for fair pay, and we’ll do our best to help you get paid for your hard work.