Workers’ Compensation FAQs

On screen: “Is there a time limit to report a work injury?”

Michael: Here in Tennessee, you have 30 days to report your injury to your employer—that’s 30 days from the date of the accident or 30 days from the time you discovered your condition was work-related. Also, there is a one-year statute of limitations to file a claim. If you don’t provide proper notice or file your claim within the one year, you could miss your chance for benefits.

At Ponce Law, our workers’ compensation attorneys can help you meet state deadlines and protect your right to benefits. Remember, missing just one deadline could cost you and your family benefits that you need. Call us today or fill out the short web form located throughout our site.

Contact Ponce Law for a free consultation with one of our Workers’ Compensation lawyers. Ponce Law. Justice for All.

  1. What should I do if I’m injured at work?
    After a work place injury, you should first report your injury to your employer and request medical treatment. Your employer should provide you with a list of approved medical providers from whom you can seek treatment without delay. Once your condition is stable, you should follow up with your employer to confirm your claim has been filed properly, all benefits are being paid, and light duty accommodations can be made for any medical restrictions you may have.
  2. Why do I need a workers’ compensation attorney?
    Employers may try to deny injured workers like you the workers’ compensation benefits they deserve after on-the-job injuries. The experienced workers’ compensation attorneys at Ponce Law can investigate your accident and stand up for your rights. Call us at 615-244-4325 or fill out a free initial consultation form today.
  3. Can I get fired for filing a workers’ compensation claim?
    It’s against the law for employers to terminate employees for reporting workplace injuries or filing a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. If your employer retaliates against you for reporting your injury, you may be eligible to file a claim for wrongful termination.
  4. What’s the difference between workers’ compensation and personal injury claims?
    Personal injury claims may be filed by anyone who suffered an injury that was caused by the negligence of another person, company, or government agency. Workers’ compensation benefits are provided to employees who are injured on the job and are covered by employers’ state-regulated insurance. Almost all employers in Tennessee are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance to compensate their employees if they get hurt on the job.
  5. What types of benefits am I eligible for?
    If you are injured on the job, you may be eligible to receive a variety of benefits, such as:

The families of workers who are killed in workplace accidents also may be eligible to receive a portion of their loved one’s income as workers’ compensation benefits.

If you have any questions about receiving workers’ compensation, or if you suffered an on-the-job injury and don’t know what to do next, contact the Nashville workers’ compensation attorneys at Ponce Law. We’ve helped injured victims for more than 25 years, and we’ll do our best to help you, too.