You’d be hard pressed to find a Tennessee driver who doesn’t understand the importance and legal requirement of obeying the speed limit, avoiding alcohol and drugs before getting behind the wheel, and stopping at red lights. But there are far more laws than those governing what you can and can’t do while driving.
However, not all drivers are familiar with all of the state’s traffic laws. After all, many drivers haven’t been tested on their knowledge of traffic laws since they passed the state examination to receive their driver licenses. That means decades have passed and countless laws have been passed or changed since they were at their most knowledgeable on this topic.
Thankfully, the Tennessee Highway Safety Office has compiled a list of the most commonly violated and important traffic laws in the state. You can view the specifics of these laws at this helpful database. It includes laws for everything from alcohol and drug usage, to leaving the scene of an accident, to teen driving, to work zone traffic.
Knowing these laws is important not just for avoiding citations and accidents, but also for maintaining eligibility for full compensation after a crash. That’s because Tennessee uses a modified comparative negligence system for determining settlements after accidents. You can still receive compensation after a crash as long as you’re less than 51% at fault, but your percentage of fault is subtracted from your settlement check.
That means that if you’re 40% at fault for a crash and awarded $10,000, you’ll receive only $6,000, as 40% will be deducted due to your level of fault. And in many cases, fault is assigned to drivers when they violated one or more traffic laws.
Have questions about or need assistance with an auto accident claim? We’ve got your back. Contact the Nashville auto accident lawyers at Ponce Law today for a free consultation.