Call 24/7 (800) 363-9113

What Are the Optional Types of Car Insurance Coverage in TN?

by Staff Blogger | December 9th, 2020

Like all other states, drivers in Tennessee are required to carry liability coverage to legally use public roads. Tennessee’s minimum coverage operates on a 25/50/15 rule of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 property damage per accident

People with coverage that meets those requirements technically don’t need any additional coverage. However, that little coverage can leave them vulnerable to paying out of pocket for accident costs. That’s why many drivers opt to purchase additional coverage, such as:

  • Collision coverage—This coverage pays to repair your vehicle after a crash that damages it.
  • Comprehensive coverage—This coverage protects you from theft, weather damage, and even collisions with animals.
  • Roadside assistance coverage—This coverage means you get access to help for routine emergencies, such as a dead battery, a flat tire, or a vehicle that needs to be towed.
  • Medical Payments coverage—This coverage covers medical costs for you and your passengers up to a certain amount regardless of who was at fault.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage—If a driver without insurance causes your crash, you can pursue a claim against him directly, but you’re unlikely to get paid. This insurance provides compensation when this happens.

Although we battle insurance companies daily, we recognize that it’s better to have coverage that you need to fight to receive than to not have the coverage at all. Therefore, buy as much coverage as you can afford.

And if the insurance company won’t cooperate after a crash, the Nashville auto accident lawyers at Ponce Law are here to help. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Free Case Review

All Fields required.