August 24th, 2015|
When a Tennessee worker is injured while working, he or she is typically eligible for worker’s compensation benefits. But what types of expenses are covered?
The Nashville workers’ compensation lawyers at Ponce Law explain that in The Volunteer State, an injured worker should receive coverage for at least two types of damages.
Workers covered under Tennessee workers’ compensation should have all medical expenses covered under their employer’s insurance. According to the Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development, these benefits must be ordered by an authorized treating physician and can include the costs of surgery, medicines, medical supplies, nursing or psychological services, hospitalization, and even dental work.
Those who have suffered on-the-job injuries are also often qualified to receive wage replacement benefits. There are three types of benefits an injured worker can receive:
- Temporary disability benefits
- Permanent disability benefits
- Death Benefits
Determining Your Best Options
Many factors come into play when determining the amount of benefits an injured worker should receive. At Ponce Law, we suggest speaking with a qualified attorney to help make sure you’re getting the benefits you deserve if you’re considering applying for workers’ compensation or have a claim that was denied in the past.
August 8th, 2014|
Last year, Tennessee legislators passed a bill that massively overhauled the way the state’s workers’ compensation system operates. That’s why the Nashville workers’ compensation lawyers would like to make you aware of the reforms that went into effect on July 1, 2014.
One of the major shifts is that claims are now decided by an administrative board rather than the civil court system. According to The Chattanoogan, Governor Bill Haslam appointed three judges to the board earlier this month. Their terms will range from 2-6 years.
Other changes were made to the way permanent disability ratings are handed out. Now, ratings will be based on the body as a whole, and workers eligible to receive permanent disability benefits will be eligible to continue receiving payments equal to their disability rating if they return to work. Also, pain will not be considered when assigning an impairment rating.
The maximum amount of time benefits can be paid has been increased to 450 weeks as well.
At Ponce Law, we understand how complex the laws overseeing workers’ compensation benefits in our state can be. That’s why if you’ve been hurt at work and have questions regarding your legal rights, we encourage you to contact our legal staff. Call us anytime at (800) 363-9113 to get in touch with our legal staff.