Tennessee seat belt laws

Fines for Seatbelt Violations Set To Increase in Tennessee for 2016

by Staff Blogger | November 20th, 2015

The Nashville car accident attorneys at Ponce Law point out that estimates from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention show buckling up can reduce your chances of injury or death in a crash by as much as half.

Yet each year, as many as 14 percent of Tennessee drivers put themselves at risk of harm by not wearing their seatbelts, and the number of drivers who don’t buckle up continues to grow. The University of Tennessee Center for Transportation Research found seat belt usage in The Volunteer State has decreased 1.5 percent from 2014.

Laws require drivers and passengers to fasten their seatbelts, but the current penalties are hardly a deterrent with $10-$20 in fines. That’s why lawmakers have approved a bill that will increase the punishment for motorists who don’t wear seatbelts.

WKRN 2 News reports that beginning in Jan. 2016, the fines for seatbelt violations in Tennessee will increase to $25 for a first offense and $50 for subsequent offenses. The state will also continue utilizing the “Click It or Ticket” campaign as a means of educating motorists about the importance of buckling up.

The legal staff at Ponce Law recognizes the important role seatbelts play in saving lives on the road, which is why our Nashville personal injury lawyers encourage you to buckle up each time you get in a car. Doing so doesn’t just save you money, it could also save your life.

New Laws Aim to Reduce Fatal Tennessee Car Accident Numbers

by Staff Blogger | August 3rd, 2015

The Dangers of Drunk Driving and Not Buckling Up

Two of the leading causes of Tennessee car accidents are drunk driving and a lack of seatbelt use. Data from the Insurance Institute of Highway safety shows drunk driving accidents account for roughly one-third of all fatal collisions in our state, while almost half of those who die on Tennessee highways are not wearing their seatbelts.

State legislators are hoping to address these issues with several new laws.

DUI Monitoring

This recently passed bill will require anyone charged with vehicular homicide or vehicular assault resulting from driving while intoxicated to wear a transdermal alcohol-monitoring bracelet as a condition of his or her release from custody. The unit is capable of detecting alcohol in a person’s system by monitoring moisture released through the skin. Officials say the law aims to keep repeat driving under the influence offenders off the road.

Seat Belt Laws

New regulations have also increased the penalties for not wearing a seatbelt in Tennessee. An article from The Daily Herald says fines for failing to buckle up have increased from $10 to $25 for a first offense and from $20 to $50 for secondary and subsequent infractions. The fine for any driver between ages 16-17 who is not properly restrained was also increased from $20 to $25.

Protect Yourself

The legal staff at Ponce Law believes in the importance of highway safety and is encouraged by recent legislation, but we know the key to preventing accidents starts with drivers. Our Nashville car accident lawyers ask you to always buckle up and to avoid driving after drinking alcohol.